Thank You GSW!

I can’t watch the news anymore. I’ve stopped watching the GOP debates. It’s just too stressful and my anxiety goes through the roof.

Instead, randomly, I’ve taken on watching Golden State Warriors basketball highlights (I totally bandwagoned them after they won the Finals). Part because I love sports and part because they’re a good team, I find that watching them play is such a great destresser, for me at least. I think it’s important to be a fan of at least one good team just to have someone to mentally rely on. I’ve been a Redskins fan since I was 5 and I’m incredibly loyal, but being a skins fan is so unpredictable. Each week is a different roller coaster of emotions.

So being a Warriors fan is just great because I can rely on them day in and day out without emotional trauma (they’re 26-1 so far!). But more so than being reliable, watching the highlights is pretty. I never thought basketball would be aesthetically pleasing for me, but something about the teamwork, the ball movement, and the shooting helps relieve whatever anxiety or stress I’m dealing with.

It takes a lot to keep my morale up. “It’s okay,” I say, trying to convince myself, “It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay.It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay. It’s okay,” I repeat in my head over and over and over and over. Ridding myself from anxious thoughts is not as easy as pushing a play button to a video. Nothing is that simple. However, it’s a positive step in changing my mindset.

Find some sort of reliable stress/anxiety outlet; whether it be watching, reading, or arting something, or whatever it may be; develop a way to escape.

With all that being said, also remember that escaping reality isn’t the goal. The goal is to rid yourself from an anxious/stressful mindset in order to be more productive. So don’t go about running away from life because it’s making you stressed: deal with the stress so you can tackle life.

-mariam

Special thanks to Steve Kerr and his Warriors. Y’all make a difference in my life, I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

