Creative Writing

I am taking a creative writing class online and let me tell you, it is SO much fun! Our first exercise was to think of the first thing that pops in your head and write constantly about it for 5 straight minutes. This is what I came up with, unedited:

Ready. Set. Go. Free writing! Yay! Okay. Oh, I’m at the beach? Running. Running from what?! A monster! Oh no! Now I’m running into the waves! Deeper, downder I go. I see fish. Red, blue, and orange. Lettuce growing underwater. Lettuce? Seaweed too. A giant seahorse! Suddenly I’m riding it. This is great. Oh no. I need to breathe. That’s okay. I seem fine anyway. The seahorse is taking me to a sunken ship! It has lettuce growing around it too. I touch the ship and suddenly I see the memories of all those who died on it. A scream escapes me and suddenly I’m on the beach. Running.

I actually REALLY like this idea. I think I might post it to my “Story Time” page if I ever finish it… So my creative writing teacher said that you don’t necessarily have to be creative to write creatively. It just takes practice, willingness to free your mind and think. Forming an idea out of seeing someone cross the street; always thinking and gathering ideas to write. That’s creative writing. 

-mariam

Leave a Reply

